Applying Sunscreen

Smearing on sunscreen is a deeply pleasurable activity for me. Not a necessity; just a pleasure. I can always make the time to rub it on before I head out the door, or re-apply in the middle of my activity. It’s a weird Favourite Thing to admit to, but I can’t deny it.

I can think up a few reasons why this might be the case.

1. I like the smell. Provided I’m not dealing with a spray bottle, the oily fragrance just gets to me. They usually smell quite almondy, or other scents that connotate to rich brown colours.

Ahhh...good times.

2. They remind me of good times. To apply sunscreen fires up all my “summer” neurones. Everybody likes summer, right? Those long, warm, sunny days on holiday. Sunscreen connotates to outdoors and leisure, two things I could never be without.

3. I’m taking care of myself, and that makes me happy. I don’t like the idea of getting sunburned, or skin cancer for that matter. When I rub in the lotion all over my arms, face and legs I know I’m doing the safe thing and ensuring I won’t be painfully crisped tomorrow morning.

If you've made it this far down the post I bet you've got something to say. Go on, say it.

