To Rest My Eyes In Shades Of Green…

Several trips I made to Edinburgh with my family as a young child involved an afternoon in the Royal Botanic Gardens. To a small child those vast, exotic gardens were an exciting place to let the imagination run wild.

With adulthood and my undergraduate studies I was on the wrong side of town to return to the Botanics. The Meadows or Arthur’s Seat on the South Side were more convenient spots of greenery for relaxation or sport.

Of course, now I am staying on the North Side, able to see the Firth of Forth from my street. My daily pedal home involves a freewheel down from Princes Street, passing by the Botanics near the halfway point. Well, with summer officially happening in Edinburgh, I got the craving for outdoor greenery, sunbathing and fresh air (much as I love the wafting aroma of coffee from my local coffeeshop interiors).

The Alpine area.

The Alpine area.

Further "Alpine" scenery.

Further “Alpine” scenery.

You might think I’m too old to find magic in a garden. Well…I believe there’s magic in everything if you know how to look for it.

Looking back towards the central Edinburgh skyline.

Looking back towards the central Edinburgh skyline.

Secret corners.

The Chinese Mountain Garden

As an adult the Botanic gardens are no longer an endless expanse, they are compact enough to get around in an hour. Taking the time to appreciate all the hidden corners and secret places? Ah, that’s going to take a little bit longer…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Floral Power

It is on days like this I’m glad that I’ve got this time in Edinburgh (that I hadn’t even expected to receive) before I commit to my PhD in the Garden State. Even better, that the weather (and city) has treated me kindly.

One of the tropical greenhouses. Given that it was summer I didn't really feel the need to venture inside.

One of the tropical greenhouses. Given that it was summer I didn’t really feel the need to venture inside.

Keeping my fingers crossed for more beautiful days and more local adventures.

Mossy beds.

Mossy beds.

 

If you've made it this far down the post I bet you've got something to say. Go on, say it.

